Congratulations to Ed Mabrey, the 2016 Individual World Poetry Slam Champion

Ed Mabrey is the current Individual World Poetry Slam Champion, having won the title a record-setting FOUR TIMES in his poetry career (2007, 2012, 2013, and 2016).  He was the first person of color to win the title and continues to be a trailblazer, consistently raising the bar and setting new and ambitious standards for this performance art form.

While currently residing in Charlotte, NC, Ed is currently touring nationally performing poetry and conducting workshops as a solo artist, and can also be seen on Season 3 of Verses and Flow and online at HBO’s All Def Digital.





Here is Ed performing Libretto of the Opera: Death of a Black Boy at the 2015 Individual World Poetry Slam Finals.


Congratulations to the poets who made it all the way to Finals at the 2016 Individual World Poetry Slam Finals:

Emi Mahmoud
Akeem Olaj
Ashlee Haze
Joaquin Zihuatanejo
Steven Willis
Christopher Michael
Ebo Barton
Ed Mabrey
Rage Almighty
Johnny Osi
Patrick Roche